Posted in Daily Prompt, Personal

Wednesday, 17th of April, 2024 • TDP • #DecisionMade

Describe a decision you made in the past that helped you learn or grow.

Questioner


Good morning, dear Questioner. This is a difficult question, only in that I have so many to choose from – as I have made so many mistakes, I have learned much. (I believe we learn more from our mistakes). So when I think back through what I have learned, the decisions I have made…

A couple years after we moved to Illinois.


Just over a decade ago, things were not going well between Roegn & me, we were growing apart. This was not a natural process, my sister was doing a masterful job of manipulating Roe into despising me… later she admitted to wanting to come between us. Around this time, my Ma needed surgery that required a long recovery time in which she needed help & her husband needed to stay on the road. I was homeschooling Roe at the time, so it was easy for us to travel from Oklahoma to Illinois & stay for a while.

September, 2023


Getting away from the influence of my sister was a weight lifted from our relationship. I will not say that everything was perfect right away, because quite the opposite… we went through hell for a few years. However, had we stayed in Oklahoma, I know we would not have the relationship we have now. The decision to move to Illinois was not easy, the consequences were many; the road was long, the journey difficult & it’s certainly not over. We work on our relationship constantly.

Roe’s my best friend and the most amazing kid a mama could have. Having to make that decision was incredibly difficult, mostly because we moved away from our “village” of family to a place where we knew no one. It helped me understand boundaries better & that I’m allowed to draw certain lines in order to make my & my daughter’s lives better.

Keep In Touch by: Darlene Graeser
https://fineartamerica.com/profiles/darlene-graeser


Unfortunately, it also taught me lessons I’m still dealing with, like how important it is to keep in touch with relatives that are far away. Yeah, both Roe & I still work on that one.

∞Cecelia

Author:

The quick and easy description: child of God, saved by grace, mother of Rœgn, coffee & cannabis lover, football fanatic, student, teacher, counselor, servant.

Leave a comment